Sigma Gamma Rho  Sorority, Inc. was organized on November 12, 1922, in Indianapolis, Indiana by  Mary Lou Allison Gardner Little and six teachers: Dorothy Hanley Whiteside,  Vivian White Marbury, Nannie Mae Gahn Johnson, Hattie Mae Annette Dulin Redford,  Bessie Mae Downey Rhodes Martin, and Cubena McClure. These founding members are the “Seven Pearls” of Sigma Gamma Rho. The group became an incorporated national collegiate sorority on December 30, 1929, when a charter was granted to the Alpha chapter at Butler University.

“Greater  Service, Greater Progress” became the slogan and call of the organization that made November 12, 1922, a significant date in the history of the Black Greek system, for this date would mark the establishment of the first sorority of Black women on a predominantly white campus, Butler University in Indianapolis, Indiana. Three other sororities of Black women, all founded at Howard University, had already been established in the early 1900s. Because Black students could not join the all-white Greek sororities at Butler, a tough and determined Black female, Mary Lou Allison Little, envisioned the need to pull Black women together into the bonds of sisterhood. Six other Butler students who had chosen to teach as their profession joined Soror Little in laying the foundation for a new sorority and further advancing the Black fraternal movement.

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc. works to provide a continual, yet evolving circle of proactive cutting edge solutions and support in addressing both legacy and the emergent challenge facing our membership and our families, our local communities, and the world. ​


For more information, please visit